Clearview Public SchoolsClearview Public Schools

Honouring Spirit: Indigenous Student Awards Nominations

The Honouring Spirit: Indigenous Student Awards are intended to recognize First Nations, Métis and Inuit students who model strength and commitment in the pursuit of their personal education path and embrace their own gifts, strengths and potential while celebrating the ways of their people.

Further, the Honouring Spirit: Indigenous Student Awards provides the opportunity to celebrate the unique qualities of students who inspire their peers, teachers, education leaders and community members while respecting the agency of other students to do the same in their own ways.

This important award has been inspired by the Alberta School Boards Association’s (ASBA) Indigenous Advisory Circle whose leadership, advice and guidance has been invaluable in creating this exciting program.

Award Parameters

Honouring Spirit: Indigenous Student Awards will be presented annually to students selected by the ASBA Awards Committee. The Committee will consider First Nations, Métis or Inuit student nominees who attend a school in Alberta, either operated by an ASBA member school board or a First Nations school, who have been nominated by members of their education community based on their exemplary leadership, honour, courage and commitment to their own education path.

Awards are available for the following student categories for our region:

  • K-3

  • Grade 4-6

  • Grade 7-9

  • Grade 10-12


Selections will be made and honourees notified and announced by March 29, 2019. Selected recipients of the Honouring Spirit: Indigenous Student Awards will be honoured at a special ceremony held at Government House, 12845 102 Ave in Edmonton; and hosted by the Honourable Lois E. Mitchel, Lieutenant Governor of Alberta.

Nominate a Student!

Students may be nominated by other students, teachers, principals, superintendents, education directors, trustees, school staff or a member of the education community.  Nominations must be received by 4:30 p.m. on February 1, 2019.

A nomination package with further information is available at:

Nomination packages may be submitted by E-mail to Charlene Bearhead at or by regular mail to:

c/o Honouring Spirit: Indigenous Student Awards
1200, 9925 – 109 Street NW
Edmonton, AB T5K 2J8